What to Do With All Those Eggs

27 Apr

Are you still struggling trying to find ideas for all of those hard boiled eggs leftover from Passover Seder and Easter? When my dad was a little boy his mom used to make him a dish called Eggs Goldenrod. Later in life, he asked my mother to make it for us. I’ve since carried on the tradition in my own home. Allow me to reassure you, the Jepson family would honored if you chose to adopt the tradition in your own home.

Based on my own experiences trying to get my husband to not only eat but like this dish, I’d say that traditional Eggs Goldenrod, or Eggs à la Goldenrod (as they’re called in the Fannie Farmer Cookbook) are an acquired taste. I’m sure it’s the many memories I have from growing up that have put this dish so close to my heart. Below you’ll find Fannie Merritt Farmer’s recipe. I’d suggest using this as a guideline and adding to it as your personal taste sees fit. I’ve tried adding everything from garlic, tarragon and lemon zest to my white sauce, as well as a nice sharp white cheddar cheese. I’d say the only “rule” to follow is putting the eggs yolks on top. Somehow that burst of creamy yellow makes the dish.

3 “hard-boiled” eggs 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon butter 1/8 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon flour 5 slices toast
1 cup milk Parsley

Make a thin white sauce with butter, flour, milk, and seasonings. Separate yolks from whites of eggs. Chop whites finely, and add them to the sauce. Cut four slices of toast in halves lengthwise. Arrange on platter, and pour over the sauce. Force the yolks through a potato ricer or strainer, sprinkling over the top. Garnish with parsley and remaining toast, cut in points.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

