A True Vacation

16 Jun

I was so excited about heading to our family’s cabin in Camp Sherman, Oregon last week that I forgot to bring my camera battery. That’s right; I managed to bring my camera but left the battery charging in its cradle at work. Turns out my only source for taking photos that week was my iPhone. The above photo was taken somewhere along the three hour drive and I was incredibly happy when I captured this moment. The light was incredible, the windows were down, and I’m pretty sure we were mobbing to Katy Perry (I feel no shame).

Not having a camera and the absence of internet service at the cabin meant I was literally left unplugged for a week. I cannot remember the last time this happened to me. In fact, I’m not sure if this has ever happened to me.

Well, what a blessing in disguise. I spent most of my time cooking for the various guests who showed up throughout the week.  This provided an opportunity to add a few recipes to my chapter on Cabin cooking. Here’s a list of what may or may not make it into print:

Sausage, Olive and Caramelized Onion Quiche

Broiled Halibut with Jalapeno-Corn Sauce

Banana-Butterscotch Pudding Pie with Chocolate-Roasted Peanut Crust

Bacon Dutch Babies with Maple Syrup and Lemon

Pan-Roasted Asparagus with Fried Eggs and Whole Wheat Breadcrumbs

Tuna Nicoise Salad with Roasted Potatoes, Green Beans, Egg and Olive Vinaigrette

Mudslide Milkshakes

Homemade Crackerjacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

