Dirty Thirty, Indeed

15 Feb

Dirty Thirty

Oh my gosh, it’s been awhile. The party and the trip to Africa happened. Not to mention a few others big revelations. First and foremost being: we’re moving to L.A.!!! Evan accepted a job offer in Los Angeles to continue working with Stumptown Coffee Roasters. I’ll be leaving my post at the Woodsman Tavern in March in order to join him down south. My departure from this group of people is bittersweet, as we really have become family. That said, I miss my husband, who has been living in DTLA since the first of the year.

Now…where did we leave off? That’s right! Back to the party!

Ali_Invite

So many wonderful people were involved to make this special event successful. I wanted to indulge my Francophilia and love of Woody Allen so I chose “La Vie en Rose” as a theme. (An added bonus: I finally wear my hatband in public!) I am deeply indebted to our many friends and family who invested their time and energy to see my vision come to life. Fittingly for this animal lover, proceeds from the event benefited our friends Amy’s animal rescue and adoption organization The Pixie Project. You can see more photos and silly costumes from the event by skipping over to Paige’s blog or by checking out the gallery from StudioBooth. Once again, many, many thanks to everyone involved. Literally. Could Not. Have Done it. Without You. Thanks for making my entry into “adulthood” so memorable. Especially Mr. E. Dohrmann: It’s a pleasure growing old with you, Sir.

PaigeJones.Co-9(pp_w760_h506)

Photography: Paige Jones / Invitations: Inclined to Create / Dinner Location: Little Bird Bistro / Party Location: Boothster / Flowers and Event Design: Rosemary Stafford Floral / Party Spread: Self Catered* / Cocktails:  Tender Bar / DJ: Tim Betterly / Photobooth: StudioBooth / Photobooth Props: Paperfinger / Dress: A.B.S. By Allen Schwartz (snagged at Goodwill + and black trim from a local fabric store)/ Wig: The Lippman Co. (5+ years ago) / Hair accessory: Ruche / Sponsored Charity: The Pixie Project

*The party spread was pretty ridiculous and entirely self catered! It took about a week to nail down my “Midnight in Paris” menu and required the help of several family members in order to pull it off. The menu included:

Rosemary Almonds

Olives with Orange and Fennel

French Onion Soup Stuffed Mushrooms

Cheese and Charcuterie boards with various pickles, jams and mustards

Pissaladieres (Provencal Pizzas with caramelized onions and anchovies)

Mini Ham and Brie Sandwiches wrapped in craft paper tied with bakers twine

Cookie Platter complete with Macarons Et Madeleines (naturally!)

Next up: AFRICA!

3 Responses to “Dirty Thirty, Indeed”

  1. Lisa Rosenstein February 15, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    Dear Ali,
    Great Post!!!
    Happy very Belated Birthday! And congratulations on your and Evan’s move to L.A.! you two will definitely make your mark there and I’m sure you will create a whole new community around you.
    Best of luck and life to you both,
    Lisa
    from Tingalaya’s

  2. Richard Kon February 16, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    Glad to hear that you guys are doing well. That is a big move from Portland to L.A. Good luck!

  3. Jonlyn February 19, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    I wish you all the happiness, success, adventure this world has to offer. I have retired and moved back to Eugene to be with my kids and grandkids. The times I spent in your wonderful cafe are some of my fondest memories. I have never had better food ANYWHERE. Love, Jonlyn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

