Breakfast: Tulip Pastry Shop

12 Dec

Donut Holes

Tulip Pastry Shop is owned and operated by the Gilbert Family, and has been a fixture in the North Portland neighborhood known as St. Johns for over 50 years. I was smitten with their (adorable) historic storefront the minute I laid eyes on it. Inside, you’ll likely find James or Art, the father-son baking tag team responsible for Tulip’s scratch bread, specialty cakes, pies, donuts and cookies.

After an intensive search for the right rye bread for Lucy’s patty melt, Evan and I were ecstatic to find the Gilbert’s version, an intoxicating rye loaf swirled with English muffin dough. We were sold at first bite. As if that wasn’t enough, Tulip Pastry Shop just so happens to make my favorite donut hole in the city. It also doesn’t hurt that these donut holes are only $1.50/dozen. That’s right, I said $1.50/dozen. That works out to about $.12 per donut. Now, you don’t have to be a math genius to know a good deal when you see one, especially when that deal involves donuts.

5 Responses to “Breakfast: Tulip Pastry Shop”

  1. A.M. O'Malley December 23, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    I’m so glad you featured Tulip, they are so super fantastic.

    • Mary B. August 28, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      When we were in the store last week I noticed that the big kid Jaymes, didn’t even attempt to wash his hands after I watched him scratch his butt of his jeans. (Not the first or second time we have seen the kid be unclean!) When I asked him to please wash his hands, he got very rude. I have been coming in this store for years and have been sickened many times over the lack of clean here. They only care about money it seems and not the dirt on the floors or walls etc. The kitchen must be a real stinker! I as well as many from our church are banning this place from our stops. We have given up on the poor service and rudeness.

      • footbridgetothefeast August 31, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

        Mary,
        I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a bad experience at Tulip and with Jaymes. We’ve been fortunate to not encounter poor service or rudeness as customers. Perhaps I need to get back in there and check things out.

  2. Martha August 28, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    My dad had his Birthday number 73. SO we thought we would take him out for coffee and donuts. As we were eating I noticed something on my foot! I looked down and it was a large 2″ cockroach! It was not alone and had a friend scurrying around next to it. I mentioned it to the owner, he got very rude and said they have regular problems with cockroaches and explained that it is a bakery and all bakeries have bugs. The final straw was while dad was eating his doughnut, he found a FLY BAKED INTO THE DOUGHNUT!!!
    We were very grossed out and the owner said we bought it and would not give our money back but instead offered another doughnut! We have put up with the dirty counters the employees smelling like marijuana and the rudeness. However, a fly in the food and too many cockroaches was enough for us. We will never go back into this dilapidated old doughnut hole. We have also called the health department, only to find they have had millions of complaints over the years and should have been closed a long time ago by the health department. People have even told us they sleep in the back illegally.
    Please call the Health dept. and do your own research, then help us get this stain off our street.

    • footbridgetothefeast August 31, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

      Martha,
      I am so sorry to hear of your negative experiences here. I would also be grossed out by sharing my meal–let alone a special occasion– with a cockroach and a fly. We have not been in in a few months, as we stopped serving the patty melt which used Tulip’s rye bread. I’ll check back and report my findings.

Leave a Reply

