Ten Thousand

23 Mar

I’ve been keeping myself busy. Too busy to write, I suppose. It wasn’t until Sister mentioned something about my blogging (or lack there of) that I noticed my negligence. Apologies to my readers for not keeping in touch. I hope to remedy this with a recap of what I’ve been up to.

First and foremost, there’s dice. Ever since my bowling league ended my teammates and I have devoted our Tuesday routine to 10,000. It’s quickly become my new favorite “sport.” Have you ever played? If not, you should learn. (And then challenge me to a game.)

I joined a book club. Our first read is Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen. Since starting this novel, my dreams have been filled with circus acts and boxcars.

My heart has been shaken and moved by the tragedy in Japan, and in turn, inspired by the efforts made by friends to help. I strongly encourage you to support their cause. We are baking a cake for our contribution. You can help Japan by buying a piece of this cake on April 2nd (and other yummy goodies) here or here.

I’m working on an exciting project with one of my favorite photographers, David Lanthan Reamer. Just the thought of this collaboration gives me butterflies.

I’ve been eating well. Highlights include: late night chocolate plates (and Dungenous crab fritters!) with good friends at good places; reaffirming my favorite pizza in the whole world (sweet corn with fennel sausage, smoked mozzarella, balsamic marinated roasted red onions and smoked tomatoes); and devouring Evan’s Anzac biscuits, even if it means just eating the cookie dough straight from the fridge.

Thanks to a shift in Lucy’s schedule, Evan and I have been able to reestablish date nights in our house. This means sitting fireside, eating spicy panang curry with tofu and cheering on our favorite professional sport team; house sitting and hot tubbing with three small dogs in Beaverton; and tasting bites from Oregon’s Master Chefs at the James Beard dinner.

Lately I can’t get enough of: Coeur de La, Eating is Art, and The Little Things We Do. Proof that inspiration is everywhere. Or at least heavily prevalent on the West Coast.

I’m researching a 2012 trip to Todos Santos, Mexico for a very dear friend’s wedding. I like the looks of this hotel but I’m open to suggestions. Got any tips for me?

Lastly, I’m looking forward to a trip to an upcoming trip to NYC to celebrate friends and family in honor of my grandpa’s 94th birthday. If I’m lucky, I hope to sneak away to eat brunch in an old fashioned dining car.

So that’s what’s new with me. What’s new with you?

4 Responses to “Ten Thousand”

  1. Lauren @ thelittlethingswedo.blogspot.com March 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I LOVE 10,000! We used to play all the time when I was a kid. It’s funny playing with other people though, because it seems like everyone has at least a couple of rules that are slightly different. I’m glad you reminded me of this game, because I completely forgot about it and my husband and I never play games because we can never find one that we both like, but I think this will be the one :).

    I read “Water for Elephants” a few years ago, during naptimes at the preschool where I work and ever since, certain songs (pretty much the entire M.Ward album we listen to at naptime) conjure up thoughts of elephants and circus performers. Definitely an interesting book.

    And thanks for including me in this post :). You are too sweet!

    Can’t wait to come enjoy more Lucy’s deliciousness soon!

    P.S. I love that you guys are blazer’s fans! My husband is an avid fan….like crazy, so it’s fun to know that we’re not alone :).

  2. caroline March 27, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    My friends and I could not get enough of the juicy lucy burger and that amazing banana cake when visiting. Not to mention, I love your reading this blog of yours. You are right inspiration is everywhere and the Pacific Northwest is a special special place. Hope all is well!! XO!!

Leave a Reply

