Five Seconds of Fashion Fame

29 May

Photo: Lisa Warninger/Urban Weeds

cardigan: J.Crew

shirt: vintage thrifted dress worn as a shirt

jeans: Forever 21

boots: vintage Hunters

necklace and earrings: from father

ring: from husband

nail polish: OPI “Ski Teal We Drop” and “Gargantuan Green Grape”

I was thrilled to discover Elle Magazine’s decision to include Portland and more specifically the work of local photographer Lisa Warninger in their Global Street Style section. Lisa is the creator and talented commercial photographer behind Urban Weeds, a local street style blog dedicated to the ever-changing and dare I say iconic fashion trends sprouting up around Portland. I was a fan of Lisa’s work even before she and her faithful contributor Lauren Hartmann, author of the blog The Little Things We Do (one of my favorites),  offered to photograph me one day while I was out tooling around in the Mississippi neighborhood. My fashion sense is pretty simple. I have always sided with comfortable and practical over trendy and new, and I like geometric patterns mixed with primary colors—Momma always said primary colors never go out of style. I don’t really consider myself “fashionably conscious” (though based on my shoe collection alone I know family and friends would disagree), which is one reason why I was completely surprised when I received word from Lisa informing me that Elle chose to include the photo of me in the Portland spread. That said, I am proud of this photo. I think Lisa did an excellent job of capturing me and my personal style, and I’d like to thank her and Lauren for including me during their celebration of local fashion.

To check out the entire Portland spread on Elle’s Global Street Style follow the link and browse through. It’s fun to explore the trends popping up in other parts of the world, too.

3 Responses to “Five Seconds of Fashion Fame”

  1. you are totally stylish lady :). you look lovely in your photo and i’m so glad elle chose you….they’ve got good taste obviously ;).

  2. Urban Weeds May 29, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    I loved your photographs you have such a contagious smile and you’re so incredibly vibrant and stylish… really just perfect! Thank you so much for letting me photograph you.

  3. caroline May 30, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    You are LOVELY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

